TBR: BookTubeAThon 2017

BookTubeAThon is almost here so I figured I would tell you which books I am going to dive into during this readathon.

August is coming closer which means that this year’s BookTubeAThon is right around the corner and I am going to attend again this year. It starts at midnight on July 24 and lasts till July 30, so a full week of reading with built in challenges help you pick out specific books as well as challenge yourself as a reader. If you want to know more, they have an official Youtube channel and in the video below Ariel Bissett presents the concept better than I ever could.

Now, I’m not a Youtuber, so I probably will not do any of the video challenges, but Ariel mentioned something about some Instagram challenges this year which I will try to participate in. Some of the books are returns from the Dewey’s Readathon because I did not get to them back then, but really want to read them.

Anyway here are the challenges for this year and my picks for the challenges

1/ Read a book with a person on the cover.

The Unwomanly Face of War by Svetlana Alexievich. In short, the author is coming to Denmark by the end of August and I want to read her most well-known book, plus I just like war history, especially when it comes to women’s role in said history. The cover has a picture of a female Soviet soldier, slightly blurred as to symbolize how the women were shamed after the war for their military service, despite the fact that they were a key part of the Soviet army, widely feared by the German soldiers and called Night Witches.

2/ Read a hyped book.

The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead. Another author that comes to Denmark soon and I have only heard good things about it. I mean, when Oprah gets the publication date pushed because she likes it so much, you know it is something special.

3/ Finish a book in one day.

The Maiden Who Rose From the Sea by Helena Henderson.  I have been into Finnish literature for a while now and I decided to dive deeper into its history. This is a collection of Finnish folk tales and it is less than 200 pages so I should be able to read it in one day.

4/ Read about a character that is very different from you.

For enden af din pegefinger by Kristina Aamand. It is a book about a Muslim girl who finds out she is a lesbian and her dealing with this revelation, her crush on another girl and her family’s reaction. I am pansexual so in that aspect I am not VERY different from her, but I am not Muslim and I am looking forward to reading about the conflict between her sexual orientation and her religion.

5/ Finish a book completely outdoors.

The Stone Gods by Jeanette Winterson. Winterson is one of my favourite authors so when I was in London about a month ago I bought a couple of her books – in the Vintage edition covers which are just beautiful. One was Written on the Body, which is my favourite book of hers, and the other was Stone Gods, which I heard Jen Campbell recommend on her Booktube a long time ago. So I will be sitting on my balcony reading this one during the week.

6/ Read a book you bought because of the cover.

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jääskeläinen. More Finnish literature! I read about this one in an article about Finnish fantasy and sci fi novels and even before I read the synopsis I just fell in love with the cover and wanted to read the book just based on that. So I borrowed it at the library so I could check it out.

7/ Read seven books.

The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster. Listen, I need seven books and Auster is another author who comes to Denmark at the end of August, so it seemed fitting to include it in this readathon.

And that is it, that is what I am going to read next week. Are you participating in Booktubeathon and if so what are you reading.

Leave a Reply

