TOP TUESDAY: Top 10 Books I’d bring along on a deserted island

It is once again Tuesday and since I made a tag last week, it’s time for a ranged list of books. So which books would I want with me if I got stranded on a deserted island?

Okay, so one of the first things I thought was: “Hmm, I should also bring some books that I hate because then I could use it to help me start bonfires” – you know, piling wood on top of a couple of crumbled pages to let the fire burn from underneath the logs. I am a former scout, so I am almost always prepared.
So one of the books on this list will be that one. If you read my tag post from last week you probably know which one. But let’s start with ones I would actually be reading.

1. Written on the Body by Jeanette Winterson
This is one of those books that changed my life, this one specifically in relation to my gender identity. Back when I read this I identified as cis female, but I think this book planted the seed of me coming out as genderfluid and it was not even its intention. I just loved the language and the way that the book remains ambiguous about the gender and sex of the narrator. So in order to never forget that I would definitely bring it.

2. Discworld series by Terry Pratchett
That should keep me occupied for quite a while. I would also need a diagram of which books to read first – if you do not know, Discworld is a series of series, where the only thing they all have in common is the world – so I know which books belong together. No matter what I should be entertained with all these.

3. Ariel by Sylvia Plath
It might seem a bit depressive, but in a lot of ways Plath’s works give me comfort whenever I feel down in any way. It is nice to know I am not alone in feeling this way. I am sure that even isolated on an island I will experience these kinds of days, so I would definitely bring it.

4. Moomins Series by Tove Jansson
What can I say, Moomins are just like a warm cosy blanket on a rainy grey day: It is always just what you need.

5. The Life and Times of Scrooge McDuck by Don Rosa
This was also on my childhood favourites list with good reason. It is one of my favourite comic series of all time, it is the embodiment of my love for comics and graphic novels and I would definitely want it with me on an island… especially considering I might learn something from Scrooge’s survival techniques in the wild.

6. In the Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
As a Comparative Literature student I really need to read this at one point or another and a situation where I am stuck on an island is as good a time as any to read it. I know a lot of the plot because I have already seen the film, but I want to experience Umberto Eco’s writing properly.

7. Hainish Cycle or Earthsea Cycle by Ursula K. Le Guin
Only one of them because there are already enough series on this list. I loved the first book and what I have read of the second book in the Earthsea series and I have heard so many good things about the Dispossessed and Left Hand of Darkness of the Hainish Cycle. I just don’t know which one of them I would prefer, but definitely want either of them.

8. The Year of the Hare by Arto Paasilinna
This was one of my favourite books from 2015. It is a product of its time of course, but dammit, it is just so Finnish and I completely adore its qualities of almost being magic realism. I laughed so hard when I read it, which I will definitely need if I am stranded on a deserted island.

9. Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe
This is not because I particularly like this book, but hey, I might be able to get some inspiration from it, in order to survive. Y’know, without the racism parts.

And now for the one to be used as a bonfire starter, and you probably guessed it

10. Telemachus by Fénelon
Ever wondered what the hell Telemachus and Mentor (Athena) were up to while Odysseus was on the way home? Neither did I, but I got the answer through this book. Apparently Mentor taught Telemachus about virtue and moderation and returning to the simple life AND OH MY GOD KILL ME! It would not have been as bad if it had not been for the fact that it just PILES on chapters about different situations which are basically the same structure: Telemachus or someone else fucks up, Mentor fixes it, Mentor gives a lesson in virtues and what the screw up did wrong, rinse and repeat. I hated this book so much that after having written a mandatory assignment on it, I seriously considered printing out the PDF just to burn it ritually, which is exactly why I would use it as a bonfire aid.

Top Ten Tuesday is a post type that combines lists with the love of literature. It was started by The Broke and The Bookish and I learned about it from my friend Regitze over at Bookish Love Affair and I decided to join in on this trend. I know that I will not always be able to come up with ten answers so I will just refer to it as Top Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

