TAG TUESDAY: Ruler of Books Tag

Tag Tuesday is my second Tuesday segment. Here I take tags from different blogs or booktubes and try to answer them whether I have been tagged or not, though I would of course prefer the former, so please feel free to tag me.

The first tag I am going to do is the Ruler of Books tag, created by Ariel Bissett.

  1. What book would you make everyone read?
    There are a couple, but if I have to choose one, it is probably The Bell Jar. It is one of the most important books in my life, as it helped me realise that I had depression. I related so much to a lot of Esther’s thoughts, which sounds sad, but at the same time it was therapeutic for me. It is by no means an easy or pleasant read, but for anyone who has ever suspected that they suffer from depression, it is important.
    I will do a longer post about The Bell Jar at some point and my experience with it.
  2. What would you abolish in book construction?
    Book spines that do not allow you to let a book stay open. I love hardbacks, but I really hate how some hardbacks have spines that require you to press down hard on your book in order to keep it open rather than, you know, RELAX WITH YOUR BOOK. I want to chill out when I read, not do a fucking workout and fear that if I need to scratch my nose, the book will close on me.
  3. What author would you commission to write you any book?
    If we can only choose from living authors, I would have to go with either Jeanette Winterson or Ursula K. Le Guin. If we can choose authors that are no longer among us, Terry Pratchett, no question. *cries forever*
  4. What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?
    I would have said Telemachus by Fénelon, but demoting it to the basement would not be enough for that book, it deserves to be burned. So probably, the Twilight books, including 50 Shades of Grey. Yeah, I am not that creative, but honestly, those books are terrible.
  5. What cover artist would you commission to make a mural?
    Francis Cugat aka the guy who did the original cover for The Great Gatsby because DAMMIT I want piercing eyes on my wall!
  6. What character’s face would you put on a coin?
    Alanna from Tamora Pierce’s Song of the Lioness, because that gives the option of using different stages of her life on different coins.
  7. What book would you award the “Ruler of Books” 2016 Prize to?
    Hag-seed by Margaret Atwood. Just finished this a couple of days ago and it is drenched in meta and cynicism and revenge and hope just like the play on which it was based, The Tempest by William Shakespeare.
Leave a Reply

