WRAP-UP WEDNESDAY: Booktubeathon

I know, I know. Booktubeathon was months ago, back in July. But seeing that I only just started this blog about a month and I haven’t really read any full works the past week I figured I would do a small wrap up of that readathon.

Booktubeathon is a week-long annual readathon initiated by Ariel Bissett, one of my favourite booktubers (go to her blog or her Youtube). It is conveniently placed in the month of July – this year it was July 18th to 24th – when most people are off from education and has the time to read a lot. The goal is to read 7 books in one week and then there are mini challenges in regards to the books you should read. Furthermore there are video challenges for your own Booktube channel, but seeing that I didn’t have one of those I just stuck to the reading.

This year’s challenges were:

  1. Read a book with yellow on the cover
  2. Read a book only after sunset
  3. Read a book you discovered through Booktube
  4. Read a book by one of your favourite authors.
  5. Read a book that is older than you.
  6. Read and watch a book-to-movie adaptation.
  7. Read seven books.

I picked out 7, one for each challenge (the ones I finished in time are in bold and green, the ones I finished after Booktube was over are in bold and blue)

  1. Knut Hamsun – Sult (Hunger)
  2. John Milton – Paradise Lost
  3. Cynthia Bond – Ruby
  4. Jeanette Winterson – Tidens Kløft (The Gap of Time)
  5. Zora Neale Hurston – Their Eyes Were Watching God
  6. Patricia Highsmith – Carol
  7. Harper Lee – To Kill a Mockingbird

 

Et billede slået op af Neko McEvil (@nekomcevil) den 25. Jul 2016 kl. 12:48 PDT

 

Technically some of the books overlapped, such as five of them being older than me. So even though I only finished four books, I actually completed five of the challenges, seeing that the version of To Kill a Mockingbird I had found at the library also had yellow on the cover and I had also heard about The Gap of Time through Booktube thanks to Jen Campbell.

I love readathons because I am quite a competitive person and getting challenges and a deadline in my reading like this really motivates me to read – at least if I have nothing else to do, because if it collides with a ton of homework it can cause the biggest reading slump ever, both for the spare time reading and homework reading.

Leave a Reply

