TBR: Autumn break

In Denmark we have a week off from school during autumn. It was previously known as the “potato break” because children was off from school in order to help with the potato harvest.

Fortunately we are not obliged to do that any more, so I am going to get some reading done during this time off!

vegetarian

First of all, I am reading The Vegetarian by Han Kang. I borrowed it at the library some time ago, but never got around to it, due to a lot of homework. Well now the time is almost up I have to turn it in on Tuesday and since it is a rather short read I figure I should be done with it soon. I know almost nothing about it, but one of my favourite booktubers, Jen Campbell read it back in April, and the way she described it I was hooked immediately.

hekseyngel

Next one is Margaret Atwood’s Hekseyngel (the Danish version of Hagseed). I received this one as review copy through my work at Littuna.nu and I have to finish a review by October 24. It is a retelling of William Shakespeare’s The Tempest and from the chapters I have already read, I can tell that this is going to be a good read.

nana

I am going to read Nana by Emile Zola for class at university and I am already well on my way, but seeing that it is a large book I would like to finish it during my autumn break. That way it will not feel so intimidating when I also have critical and historical texts to read for other courses. I am about a third in and I absolutely love it.

romantic-outlaws

Finally, a couple of weeks ago I read Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. Seeing that I want to do an actual article about that book – and because I love Shelley and her mother Mary Wollstonecraft – I have to do a bit of research on Shelley, so I found Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollstonecraft and her daughter Mary Shelley by Charlotte Gordon. I read an interview with the author and it sounds like exactly the book I need for my article.

I will also be reading assorted graphic design books. I do not know which, though, so that will be a surprise for you when I do my autumn break wrap up.

If you have an autumn break at the moment, what are your plans? Does it involve books? Do tell in the comments below.

 

Leave a Reply

